Home | Deutsch    
 
   
   
  News
   
 
 
Production Period: Jan.-Sep. 1995
Release: Nov. 1995
Artist: COSMIC BABY
Title: 14 Pieces - Selected Works
Format: LP/CD
Label: Time Out Of Mind
Re-Release: Dec. 2000
  "14 Pieces Plus 2" [*]
  CD / Time Out Of Mind
Download Release: Jun. 2007 / T.O.O.M.
 

 
 
Tracklisting Bothsides Of The Atlantic
East Houston St.
Teotihuacan
Glücksspirale
Floating Construction [*]
You Are Always In My Heard
It Will Ring Your Bell
Funkfiction I
Karma
Funkfiction II
Do Not Stack
Memories
Yalda's Song
Irregular Heartbeats
Melbourne - Mexico - New York [*]
Träume

[* = additional track on "14 Pieces Plus 2"]

 
 
Audiofile 1: East Houston St. [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 2: You Are Always In My Heart [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 3: Träume [MP3] [RA]

To hear the sound samples you will need either an MP3 player or RealPlayer (www.real.com). To listen, click on the "[MP3]" or the "[RA]"-link after the title (providing this has been set up with your browser correctly).

 
 

Notes:

“Fourteen Pieces“ is a collection of electronic pieces which I had composed at various places and in various moods over the year through 1995. It documents my desire to experiment, leaving all the baggage of past expectations behind and (stylistic-technical) routines and find new avenues of personal expression. In September I chose a limited selection of pieces from a huge number of different styles and released them as a kind of taking stock of where I stood as an artist. The lessons learned from “Stunde Null“ reinforced my conviction of leaving the intuitive element of spontaneous recordings in their “raw“ form instead of polishing them smooth in later reworking and advanced mixing. I liked to move straight on to the next piece and keep the flow going, rather than getting bogged down in working on the details.

Some production notes:

February 1995: recorded in my New York apartment, “East Houston St.“ describes the mood of a route I often took walking home from Manhattan's Alphabet-City towards Broadway and the subway to Brooklyn.

May 1995: Research into the basic form of Techno pieces. “Funkfiction“, “It will ring your Bell“ and “Irregular Heartbeats“ all originate from the fun had programming the TR 808 drum machine. Everything that followed is built up around these patterns.

July 1995: one of my greatest dreams as a composer: to express with the simplest means (ideally just one track) the most complex situations in the very moment of their inspiration. These moments are rare and simultaneously the “moments of glory“! These are the moments when the dichotomies between “accident“ and “intention“, “heart“ and “head“ are transcended. “Glücksspirale“ and “Träume“ were created in such moments in Berlin, and „Karma“ in Orlando/Florida.

August 1995: “Bothsides of the Atlantic“ and “You are always in my Heart“ are related. I call them “large transatlantic pieces“. Atmospherically, they are wide, melodic and have improvised passages, breathe with an American groove, are very emotional and defy any categorization into a set style. In this sense, another related piece: “Teotihuacan“.

 
 
 


Reviews

A masterly Double CD with 14 pieces of art which offer with every hearing a deeper understanding fot the musical experience that Cosmic Baby is going through. Techno for those who enjoy Kraftwerk and Tangerine Dream. 10 Points!!!

Dirk Waldmann, Raveline 1/96

Once again Cosmic Baby proves his enormous creativity: nothing is equal, everything moves and changes, rather abstract and beyond standarts. He creates a musical dreamworld which is placed far from the known musical universe.

Detlef Hogefeld, Solo 1/96

 

 

For more details take a look at the
Unofficial Cosmic Baby / Harald Blüchel Discography / Fanpage

Home | English    
 
   
   
  Neues
   
 
 
Produktionszeitraum: Jan.-Sep. 1995
Release: Nov. 1995
Artist: COSMIC BABY
Title: 14 Pieces - Selected Works
Format: LP/CD
Label: Time Out Of Mind
Re-Release: Dec. 2000
  "14 Pieces Plus 2" [*]
  CD / Time Out Of Mind
Download Release: Jun. 2007 / T.O.O.M.
 

 
 
Tracklisting Bothsides Of The Atlantic
East Houston St.
Teotihuacan
Glücksspirale
Floating Construction [*]
You Are Always In My Heard
It Will Ring Your Bell
Funkfiction I
Karma
Funkfiction II
Do Not Stack
Memories
Yalda's Song
Irregular Heartbeats
Melbourne - Mexico - New York [*]
Träume

[* = zusätzlicher Track auf "14 Pieces Plus 2"]

 
 
Audiofile 1: East Houston St. [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 2: You Are Always In My Heart [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 3: Träume [MP3] [RA]

Die Sound-Beispiele benötigen entweder einen MP3- oder den RealPlayer (www.real.com), zum Anhören (korrekte Einbindung im Browser vorrausgesetzt) jeweils auf den "[MP3]" oder den "[RA]"-Link hinter dem Titel klicken.

 
 

Gedanken:

„Fourteen Pieces“ ist eine Sammlung von elektronischen Stücken, die über das Jahr 1995 hinweg an verschiedenen Orten und in verschiedenen Stimmungen entstanden. Es dokumentiert die Experimentierlust, jenseits aller herangetragener Erwartungen und (stilistisch-technischen) Routinen, nach neuen Wegen des persönlichen Ausdrucks zu suchen. Im September konnte ich aus einem großen Stücke-Schatz unterschiedlichster Stile auswählen und veröffentlichte diese Sammlung als eine Art künstlerische Standortbestimmung. Die Erfahrungen aus „Stunde Null“ bestärkten mich in der Idee, das intuitive Element des spontan entstandenen und aufgenommenen Zeitdokuments eher „roh“ stehen zu lassen, als es von tontechnischen Gesichtspunkten her weiter blank zu polieren. Es gefiel mir, lieber sofort das nächste Stück zu machen, also den fließenden Prozeß weiter zu führen, als die Zeit mit aufwendiger Detailarbeit anzuhalten.

Einige Detailaufzeichnungen:

Februar 1995: aufgenommen in meiner New Yorker Wohnung, beschreibt „East Houston St.“. die Stimmung eines von mir oft in den Abend- und Nachstunden eingeschlagenen Nachhausewegs zu Fuss von Manhattans Alphabet-City in Richtung Broadway zur Subway nach Brooklyn.

Mai 1995: Untersuchung der Urform von Technostücken. „Funkfiction“, „It will ring your Bell“ und „Irregular Heartbeats“ gehen von der viel Spaß machenden Programmierung der TR 808 Rhythmusmaschine aus. Sämtliche Folge-Ereignisse sind um diese Patterns herumgebaut.

Juli 1995: einer meiner absoluten Wunschträume als Komponist: mit einfachsten Mitteln (im Idealfall nur einer einzigen Tonspur), im Moment des absoluten Augenblickes der Inspiration komplexeste Situationen ausdrücken zu können. Diese Momente sind rar und gleichzeitig natürlich die „Sternstunden“! In diesen Momenten wird der Widerspruch zwischen „Zufall“ und „Plan“, zwischen „Herz“ und „Kopf“ aufgehoben. „Glücksspirale“ und „Träume“ entstanden auf diese Weise in Berlin, „Karma“ in Orlando/Florida.

August 1995: „Bothsides of the Atlantic“ und „You are always in my Heart“ sind Geschwister, die ich intern „grosse Trans-Atlantikstücke“ genannt habe. Sie sind atmosphärisch weit, melodisch, haben improvisatorische Passagen, atmen einen „amerikanischen“ Groove, sind hoch emotional und setzen sich über alle Stileinteilungen hinweg. In diesem Sinne ein weiterer Verwandter: „Teotihuacan“.

 
 
 


Reviews

Eine meisterhafte Doppel-CD mit vierzehn Kleinkunstwerken, die mit jedem erneuten Anhören einen tieferen Einblick in die musikalische Erlebniswelt des Cosmic Baby ermöglichen. Techno für Genießer auf den Pfaden von Kraftwerk und Tangerine Dream. 10 Points.

D-Weird in: RAVELINE 1/96

Hier zeigt sich wieder einmal die enorme Kreativität, die in Cosmic Baby steckt: Nichts ist gleich, alles bewegt und verändert sich, reichlich abstrakt und jenseits der Norm. Es werden akustische Traumwelten erzeugt, die abseits des bekannten musikalischen Universums liegen.

Detlef Hogefeld in: SOLO 1/96

Von Teppichen mit inflationären Dimensionen bis hin zu den so typischen Pianolinien gibt es alles, wodurch der Cosmic-Stil schon immer geprägt wurde. Dennoch klingt er so, als hätte er die Musik neu erfunden (stimmt in gewissen Punkten ja auch). Selbst ältere Semester in meiner Familie sind vom Cosmic Baby-Fieber befallen (Ich will meine CD zurück!). Willkommen im Olymp!

Carsten Claus in: mushroom 2/9

 

 

For more details take a look at the
Unofficial Cosmic Baby / Harald Blüchel Discography / Fanpage