Home | English    
 
   
   
  News
   
 
 
Production Period: Jul.-Nov. 1995
Release: Jan. 1996
Artist: COSMIC BABY
Title: Kinetik
Format: CD/2x12"
Label: Time Out Of Mind
Download Release: Jun. 2007 / T.O.O.M.
 
 
 
Tracklisting Ready? (Die Prinzessin Auf Der Erbse)
Floating Construction
Gummitwist
Sexy Boots
Melbourne - Mexico - New York
Motorische Reflexe [* Previously Unreleased]
 
[* = Download-Bonus, not on CD/12"]

 

 
 
 
Audiofile 1: Melbourne, Mexico, New York [MP3] [RA]

To hear the sound samples you will need either an MP3 player or RealPlayer (www.real.com). To listen, click on the "[MP3]" or the "[RA]"-link after the title (providing this has been set up with your browser correctly).

 
 

Notes:

“Stunde Null“ was a radical break with the past and marked the start of a journey into the unknown. “14 pieces“ stood for alternative possibilities for making contemporary electronic (pop) music. “Kinetik“ focused specifically on club music. The pieces were written immediately after returning home from a performance with the evening's impressions still very much alive in my mind. Key words: “rave“, “wall of sound“, “mass euphoria“, “rapture“, “ecstasy“, “exhaustion“, “over-saturation“, “elixir“, “sex“, “community“, “emptiness“...

I see “Floating Construction“ and “Melbourne, Mexico, New York“ as full compositions in their own right with the former being a more detailed study in construction and the latter an attempt to convey the lyrical emotional aspect of internationalism. By contrast, “Gummitwist“ is made up solely of mixes. “Sexy Boots“ and “Ready“ are somewhere between “track“ and “object of utility“.

Motorische Reflexe“ was my sound record of the inspirations of the “Energy Rave“ in Zurich after the “Street Parade“ in August 1995. The material is scored in the classical “three movements“ and is limited in its execution to the fundamental elements of a dance track - rhythm and bassline. It was on the original “Kinetik“ track listing and in spite of all considerations for authenticity I threw it out at the last second before pressing the album ... now you can hear it as an additional track on the download release.

 
 
 


Reviews

For a third time he approaches chamber music with „Kinetik“. By experimenting with sounds and beats beneath the 120 sonic barrier, Mr. Baby has created an interesting statement to the accelerating and pitching techno world, with is definitly shouting for attention.

Björn Döring, Zitty 3/96

After Cosmic's latest release being rather abstract and for some probably too experimental, the new album tries to direct the energy to the dancefloor. This CD really proves this development, where the sheer force of music lets you head closer and closer to the floor with each track.

Dirk Waldmann, Raveline 3/96

This is Cosmic how I missed him, we're up for earlier succes again! Beautiful clear tones, sound sheets...I won't tell you more, get surprised!!!

Dolphin, Raveline 3/96

Once again Cosmic Baby proves his enormous creativity: nothing is equal, everything moves and changes, rather abstract and beyond standarts. He creates a musical dreamworld which is placed far from the known musical universe.

Detlef Hogefeld, Solo 1/96

 

 

For more details take a look at the
Unofficial Cosmic Baby / Harald Blüchel Discography / Fanpage

Home | English    
 
   
   
  Neues
   
 
 
Produktionszeitraum: Jul.-Nov. 1995
Release: Jan. 1996
Artist: COSMIC BABY
Title: Kinetik
Format: CD/2x12"
Label: Time Out Of Mind
Download Release: Jun. 2007 / T.O.O.M.
 
 
 
Tracklisting Ready? (Die Prinzessin Auf Der Erbse)
Floating Construction
Gummitwist
Sexy Boots
Melbourne - Mexico - New York
Motorische Reflexe [* Previously Unreleased]
 
[* = Download-Bonus, nicht auf CD/12"]

 

 
 
 
Audiofile 1: Melbourne, Mexico, New York [MP3] [RA]

Die Sound-Beispiele benötigen entweder einen MP3- oder den RealPlayer (www.real.com), zum Anhören (korrekte Einbindung im Browser vorrausgesetzt) jeweils auf den "[MP3]" oder den "[RA]"-Link hinter dem Titel klicken.

 
 

Gedanken:

„Stunde Null“ war der radikale Aufbruch zu neuen musikalischen Ufern. „14 Pieces“ stand für alternative Möglichkeiten zeitgemäßer elektronischer (Pop-)Musik. „Kinetik“ beschäftigte sich mit konkreter Clubmusik. Die Stücke entstanden direkt nach der Heimkehr von Auftritten unter dem Eindruck der dort erlebten Realitäten. Stichworte: „Motorik“, „Schalldruck“, „Massen-Euphorie“, „Sinnesrausch“, „Hochgefühl“, „Erschöpfung“, „Reizüberflutung“, „Lebens-Elixier“, „Sex“, „Gemeinschaft“, „Leere“ ...

Floating Construction“ und „Melbourne, Mexico, New York“ würde ich als vollwertige Kompositionen bezeichnen, wobei das eine eher eine detailliert ausgearbeitete Konstruktionsstudie ist und das andere den lyrisch-emotionalen Aspekt der Internationalität zu transportieren versucht. Dem gegenüber steht „Gummitwist“ als reines Mix-Material. „Sexy Boots“ und „Ready“ liegen irgendwo zwischen „Stück“ und „Gebrauchsgegenstand“.

Motorische Reflexe“ war das klangliche Gedächtnisprotokoll des Züricher „Energy-Raves“ nach der Streetparade im August 1995. Das Material ist im klassischen Sinne „drei-sätzig“ angelegt, beschränkt sich in seiner Durchführung auf die Urbausteine eines Tanz-Tracks: Rhythmus und Basslinie. Es stand auf dem original „Kinetik“-Tracklisting und wurde von mir in letzter Sekunde vor der Pressung gegen alle Authentizität aus der Kopplung heraus geworfen...

 
 
 


Reviews

Er verstörte nicht wenige Fans mit "Stunde Null" - in weiten Teilen musikalische Grundlagenforschung: atonal, klangverliebt, nicht dance-floor kompatibel. Nach "Stunde Null" erschien "14 Pieces". Dieses Mal enttäuschte er diejenigen, die ihn auf dem reinen Weg der Experimentalmusik vermuteten: ein Album voll warmer Melodien und sanfter, aber fordernder Rhythmik. Mit "Kinetik" nähert er sich wieder dem Dancefloor. Wie so oft: Wenn man glaubt, ihn in ein Schublädchen packen zu können, ist er schon weitergezogen.

Wendelin Niedlich in: Hamburger Abendblatt v. 3.2.96

Nachdem Cosmic's letzte Releases teilweise eher abstrakt und für manche Techno-Ohren wohl zu experimentell waren, versucht die neue Platte, diese innovative Energie auch auf den Dancefloor zu übertragen. Die CD macht diese Entwicklung mehr als deutlich, indem Dich die Kraft der Musik von Titel zu Titel stärker in Richtung Tanzflur treibt.

D-Weird in: Raveline 3/96

Dies ist der Cosmic, den ich vermißt habe, wir knüpfen an alte Erfolge an! Wunderschöne klare Sounds, Flächen, eben der alte Cosmic-Style. Mehr will ich nicht verraten, laßt Euch überraschen !!!!

Dolphin in: Raveline 3/96

 

 

For more details take a look at the
Unofficial Cosmic Baby / Harald Blüchel Discography / Fanpage