Home | Deutsch    
 
   
   
  News
   
 
   
    „works 1996.1 - somnambul“ & „works 1996.2 - hundeherz“ (contents)
   

1. Cosmic Baby 1996   (more)
2. About „Works“   (more)
3. Soundbites   (more)

   
    1. Cosmic Baby 1996
   
After taking production into my own hands when I set up Time out of Mind Records in 1995, I also decided to split from my management.
This step proved to be more drastic and difficult to pull off: I had to become acquainted with four years of business and legal matters that I hadn't really had to care about at all before, and handling all this on my own in future.
Artistically I didn't want to make any compromises. The extremely positive experiences I had in 1995 with the trilogy, "stunde null", "14 pieces" und "kinetic" reinforced me in my resolve to carry on in the same direction of unbridled playfulness and unpolished production. A large number of new recordings resulted.
Organizationally I was totally over-demanded. The result was that none of the projects ever got released as a record. These are the works that are now being released here in the collection "works 1996.1 - somnambul" and "works 1996.2 - hundeherz" as an album available for download.

back to top

   
    2. About „Works“
   
"works 1996.1 - somnambul":
My iTunes random playlist recently put together "Träume", the closing piece on "14 pieces", followed by "blueberry seeds together", the opening piece on "works 1996.1". It was the perfect continuation! I was instantly able to follow what was going through my mind back then: seeing music as an endless and intuitively woven thread of life transformed into sounds. There is no obvious pause or break between "14 pieces" and "works 1996". At most you can only hear intuitive developments in other areas.
The term "sonambul" characterizes what I mean by "other areas": focusing on the world of "dreams", looking at how what a person dreams manipulates what they perceive. The attempt to harmonize the anticipated "objective" reality with the "subjective" reality.
It stretches from hippy-ish textures ("blueberry seeds...", "nothing is real") to surreal dream interpretations ("kristallzug", "la ciudad...", "paranormal") and darker moods ("und ob ich schon wandere...", "melancholischer Tag") up to melodic minatures ("MIR", "halbdunkel", "somnambul", the "zauberflöte", "soft parade").

The album "works 1996.2 - hundeherz" collects the more kinetic pieces from 1996. Although the album begins with "Psyche", an attempt to bridge the gap between "Stunde Null", cinematic width and house music, all the other pieces on the album are influenced by my first visit to Russia in April 1996. I finally make direct contact with a country that has pulled on my soul strings my whole life long and completes the coordinates of my internal topography (Central Europe - Mexico - Australia - Russia).
"Tauwetter", "hundeherz" and "Sowjetskaja" particularly encapsulate in their own way a musical expression that was new for me.

back to top

   
    3. Soundbites
   


„works 1996.1“

Audiofile 1: kristallzug (0:00-3:25) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 2: halbdunkel (0:00-3:30) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 3: somnambul (1:40-4:45) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 4: paranormal (0:00-2:15) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 5: die zauberflöte (0:00-1:13) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 6: soft parade (träume II) (0:00-4:00) [MP3] [RA]

„works 1996.2“

Audiofile 7: psyche I (3:45) - psyche II (6:24) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 8: tauwetter (1:52-6:18) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 9: hundeherz (4:18-8:00) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 10: sowjetskaja II (1:21-4:29) [MP3] [RA]

To hear the sound samples you will need either an MP3 player or RealPlayer (www.real.com). To listen, click on the "[MP3]" or the "[RA]"-link after the title (providing this has been set up with your browser correctly).

back to top

Home | English    
 
   
   
  Neues
   
 
   
    „works 1996.1 - somnambul“ & „works 1996.2 - hundeherz“ (Inhaltsverzeichnis)
   

1. Cosmic Baby 1996   (mehr)
2. Über „Works“   (mehr)
3. Hörbeispiele   (mehr)

   
    1. Cosmic Baby 1996
   
Dem 1995 vollzogenen Schritt, von nun an die Produktionsprozesse mit Time out of Mind Records selbst in die Hand zu nehmen, folgte 1996 die Entscheidung, mich von meinem Management zu trennen.
Dies war in der Konsequenz noch einschneidender und schwieriger zu vollziehen: das hieß, vier Jahre geschäftliche und juristische Organisation, um die ich mich bis jetzt nicht wirklich kümmern musste, erst aufzuarbeiten und dann alleine fortzusetzen.
Auf künstlerischer Seite wollte ich keine Abstriche machen. Die äußerst guten Erfahrungen von 1995, dokumentiert in der Trilogie „stunde null“, „14 pieces“ und „kinetik“ bestärkten mich, diesen Weg des ungezügelten Spielens und ungeschliffenen Produzierens weiter zu gehen. Es entstanden eine große Anzahl von neuen Aufnahmen.
Organisatorisch dagegen war ich komplett überfordert. Die Folge war, dass keines der Projekte in Form von Tonträgern veröffentlicht werden konnte. Dies wird nun mit der Veröffentlichung der Sammlungen „works 1996.1 - somnambul“ und „works 1996.2 - hundeherz“ als download-Alben nachgeholt.

zurück nach oben

   
    2. Über „Works“
   
„works 1996.1 - somnambul“:
zufällig hörte ich letztens auf meiner iTunes Wiedergabeliste das „14 pieces“- Schlussstück „Träume“ und direkt danach „blueberry seeds to-gether“, das Startstück der „works 1996.1“. Es war die perfekte Fortsetzung ! Ich konnte sofort meine Gedanken von damals nach-vollziehen: sich Musik vorzustellen als endloses -und intuitiv geflochtenes- Band von in Klänge transformiertem Leben. Zwischen „14 pieces“ und „works 1996“ gibt es keine offensichtlichen Zäsuren oder Brüche, sondern es sind höchstens intuitive Entwicklungen in andere Bereiche zu hören.
Die Bestimmung „somnambul“ charakterisiert, was ich unter „andere Bereiche“ damals inhaltlich meinen konnte: Thematisierung der Sphäre des „Geträumten“, Thematisierung der Steuerung der persönlichen Wahrnehmung durch das „Er-Träumte“. Der Versuch, die antizipierte „objektive“ Realität mit einer „subjektiven“ in Einklang zu bringen.
Die Strecke geht von hippie-esken Texturen („blueberry seeds...“, „nothing is real“) über surrealistische Traumdeutungen („kristallzug“, „la ciudad...“, „paranormal“ ) und eher dunklen Stimmungen („und ob ich schon wanderte...“, „melancholischer Tag“) bis zu -im Jahr 1995 eher unterrepräsentierten- melodischen Miniaturen („MIR“, „halbdunkel “, „somnambul“, “die zauberflöte“, „soft parade“).

Das Album „works 1996.2 - hundeherz“ versammelt die eher kinetischen Stücke aus dem Jahr 1996. Beginnt das Album in „Psyche“ mit dem inhaltlichen Ziel, eine Brücke zwischen „Stunde Null“, cinemaskopischer Breite und „House-Music“ zu schlagen, so stehen alle anderen Stücke unter dem Einfluß meines ersten Besuchs in Russland im April 1996. Ich machte endlich direkte Bekanntschaft mit einem Land, das mir mein ganzes Leben lang seelisch auf unaussprechliche Art sehr nahe steht und so meine seelische Topografie zu einem Quadrat vervollständigt. (Mittel-europa - Mexiko - Australien - Russland).
Besonders herausheben möchte ich die Stücke „Tauwetter“, „Hundeherz“ und „Sowjetskaja“, die jedes auf seine Art, einen für mich neuen musikalischen Ausdruck zum klingen brachten.

zurück nach oben

   
    3. Hörbeispiele
   


„works 1996.1“

Audiofile 1: kristallzug (0:00-3:25) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 2: halbdunkel (0:00-3:30) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 3: somnambul (1:40-4:45) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 4: paranormal (0:00-2:15) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 5: die zauberflöte (0:00-1:13) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 6: soft parade (träume II) (0:00-4:00) [MP3] [RA]

„works 1996.2“

Audiofile 7: psyche I (3:45) - psyche II (6:24) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 8: tauwetter (1:52-6:18) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 9: hundeherz (4:18-8:00) [MP3] [RA]

Audiofile 10: sowjetskaja II (1:21-4:29) [MP3] [RA]

Die Sound-Beispiele benötigen entweder einen MP3- oder den RealPlayer (www.real.com), zum Anhören (korrekte Einbindung im Browser vorrausgesetzt) jeweils auf den "[MP3]" oder den "[RA]"-Link hinter dem Titel klicken.

zurück nach oben